Higher (Oliver Nelson & Skogsrå Remix) – Tobtok ft. Emil Heró

Only days later, Ollie Nelson is at it again. And this time around, he’s brought a friend along – Skogsrå. In one of the best match-ups I’ve seen this summer, the pair have merged to change up Tobtok’s most recent release, Higher ft. Emil Heró. I have to admit, before this feature I had little to no exposure to Skogsrå. When I first heard his premiere indie dance single, Now You See Meback in January of this year, I liked his style, but was shocked by his uncanniness. Sure, Skogsrå produces great music, but for the most part, he’s remained anonymous while doing so. For instance, he likes neither to share his whereabouts nor his age. In his bio on SoundCloud, Skogsrå claims he is “multiple years old” and resides at “12°22’13″N, 23°19’20″E.” After a bit of digging, however, I found the backstory behind the Skogsrå name. In Scandinavian folklore, the Skogsrå is a forest creature disguised as a woman who seduces young men, rewarding those who satisfy her and killing those who don’t. For those who survive, their soul is forever surrendered to her. However, I’m afraid the captivating myth says nothing about our mysterious artist. In fact, it frightens me to think that Skogsrå  has assumed the identity of a desperate temptress. I’d like to ask Oliver Nelson what it was like to work with him. To be honest, I could care less what he’s doing as long as he keeps releasing tracks as good as this. In this remix, the duo sprinkled a little future disco over Tobtok’s entrancing original. Although this version seems to deface Heró’s voice, it easily makes up for it by adding another level of wonder. This magical and funky turnover will have you up out of your seat and grooving to the beat. And if you’re looking to buy this remix, just head over to Beatport. Enjoy!

Leave a comment